Waiting on Wednesday #1 – A Song to Take the World Apart

Note: Bare with me, please. I am working on transferring my old posts from my former Wix site to this new WordPress site. I am so sorry if you get overwhelmed by my posts, things will get back to normal ASAP. This post was originally made on Wednesday, June 22, 2016.

WAITING ON.png

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine (as seen on any number of book blogs but that I specifically borrowed from The Candid Cover) that showcases upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating. Here at Completely Booked, my pick for the first Waiting on Wednesday is:

25883035Title: A Song to Take the World Apart

Author: Zan Romanoff

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: September 13, 2016

Summary (From Goodreads): 

Hanging out with Chris was supposed to make Lorelei’s life normal. He’s cooler, he’s older, and he’s in a band, which means he can teach her about the music that was forbidden in her house growing up. Her grandmother told her when she was little that she was never allowed to sing, but listening to someone else do it is probably harmless— right?

The more she listens, though, the more keenly she can feel her own voice locked up in her throat, and how she longs to use it. And as she starts exploring the power her grandmother never wanted her to discover, influencing Chris and everyone around her, the foundations of Lorelei’s life start to crumble. There’s a reason the women in her family never want to talk about what their voices can do.

And a reason Lorelei can’t seem to stop herself from singing anyway.

Thoughts: I had actually not heard of this book before one of my late-night Goodreads recommendation explorations where I keep clicking the “Readers May Also Like…” section next to other books I was interested in, but the first thing that caught me was the beautiful cover. Once I read the synopsis and the elements of magical realism that seem to be at play, I couldn’t help but want to read the book (and head over to Amazon to pre-order it immediately). I love books with “curses” that are transferred through women as well as the idea that it’s generational. There’s a very siren-like element to Lorelei’s curse (the name Lorelei doesn’t help) and it kind of sounds like a strange take on The Little Mermaid. I also am very interested in the new take on the traditional “girl-must-find-her-voice” story. For those reasons, Zan Romanoff’s A Song to Take the World Apart is my very first “Waiting on Wednesday” book.

Leave a Reply

