Top 10 Books on My 2016 TBR List

Once again, as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, this is sort of my belated Top 10 Tuesday, which I didn’t actually get to do this week because I was trying to get things all nice and pretty before I started showing it off. There are actually a ton of books I’ve pre-ordered and this fall is going to leave me absolutely broke but completely happy to have so many beautiful, wonderful books (although I have no idea how they’re all going to fit in my dorm room, but I suppose I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it) and isn’t that all that really matters?

So, here they are, what you’ve all been waiting for (or maybe just me), the top 10 books on my TBR list for the second half of 2016. Because I haven’t read them yet, they’re actually just in order by release date. I tried not to include any sequels to series that are already out, since I was probably going to read those no matter what (I’m looking at you Crooked Kingdom).

enter title here1. Rahul Kanakia’s Enter Title Here (August 2, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion) – Pitched on Goodreads as Gossip Girl meets House of Cards, I was way more interested in this book based on that synopsis than I should have been considering I wasn’t the biggest fan of Gossip Girl and I’ve never seen House of Cards. Still, this book has such an interesting and unique (to me, at least) premise. I’m always a little iffy when it comes to contemporary books because the tropes are kind of frustrating to me, but this does seem like it’ll be different than any contemporary YA novel I’ve read yet. It deals with the pressure on students, especially girls, to be perfect and to balance amazing grades with a bustling social life and a great romantic relationship. I can’t wait to see how Reshma’s endeavor to be her own life’s protagonist ends up for her and that’s one of the reasons why I am very much looking forward to getting my hands on this book.

nevernight2. Jay Kristoff’s Nevernight (August 9, 2016 by Thomas Dunne Books) – I know that this book is on pretty much everyone’s list of their most anticipated books and so I feel kind of bad for including instead of giving another book that’s received less love but the Goodreads and Amazon summaries of this book just make me feel like I need it. Everyone in the world seems to have read this book but me so the hype is kind of driving me insane. I need to read it because everyone else keeps saying that it’s amazing, plus if I’m being honest, lady assassins are some of my favorite characters in any kinds of books. Also, I’m very much into characters motivated by revenge *cough* Batman, Jason Todd, every Batman character ever. *cough* The kind of Italian sounding setting makes me think immediately of Assassin’s Creed, as well. Whether that is a good or a bad thing is up for debate. Definitely looking forward to lady assassin’s stab, stab, stabbing their way to revenge, especially when written by a guy whose author bio specifically states that he doesn’t like happy endings.

vicarious3. Paula Stokes’ Vicarious (August 16, 2016 by Tor Teen) – First off, the cover of this book is badass. I love the Batman-on-the-gargoyle-overlooking-his-city pose. Except it’s even better because it’s a kickass lady overlooking her city. Just looking at it invokes superhero/action movie feels. Paula Stokes has such a range to her writing, plus this is her second book coming out this year. I am excited for this darker side to her writing, considering all of the research that was done for the story. The idea seems amazing and I am all for sisters going through hell to find out what happened to their other sisters. I am also excited to see the drastic change between this book and Girl Against the Universe. I like stories with girls who are on a mission (see Nevernight) so I’m super looking forward to this one.

989bfc_8c00488b43c7444999b1fb2007a1a1d9-mv24. Zoraida Cordova’s Labyrinth Lost (September 6, 2016 by Sourcebooks Fire) – I feel like this is one of those books I added to my Goodreads TBR list even before it had a cover because the premise was really interesting to me. It’s a book about witches and magic, but it’s not a typical book about those things. I am looking forward to seeing the ways in which Zoraida’s world-building and character creation creates an update on typical magic tropes. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve already read part of it because I got the digital ARC on NetGalley and I love what I’ve read so far, but it’s definitely one of those books I can’t wait to get in hardcover, in its final form because I am absolutely sure it’ll be brilliant. The early reviews and blurbs for it from other authors definitely make it seem like it’ll be completely worth it and the cover is absolutely gorgeous so I can’t not have it.

SWTtT.png5. Kim Zarins’ Sometimes We Tell The Truth (September 6, 2016 by Simon Pulse) – I have wanted this book for a very long time and I didn’t even know it. It’s the kind of idea where I kept thinking “Why has no one done this yet?” Apparently, someone was working on it and I didn’t even know and that someone is Kim Zarins. Let me backtrack for a second, because I’m sure you’re asking “What is she talking about?” Well, this book is a Canterbury Tales retelling set in contemporary times! I feel as though I have been waiting for a really long time for this book to exist and I didn’t even know it until I was spending my time going through new releases on Goodreads. I feel like more people should definitely know that this book exists, so I’m including on this list because the premise is absolutely brilliant and it deserves all the love in the world. And this is just from the fact that it exists, I haven’t even gotten to read it yet.

tfots 6. Mindy McGinnis’ The Female of the Species (September 20th by Katherine Tegen Books) – There are two books on this list that I feel are just going to absolutely break me. This is one of them. Even many of the reviews I’ve seen for it prove that this is not going to be an easy read, but like most books, I want to read it anyway, especially for that reason. I’m always cautious about books like that but the reviews have me convinced that I can’t miss this book. I may have to put it down a couple of times and come back to it but it absolutely fascinates me and I can’t wait to read it. I am very much interested in portrayals of trauma and how they affect people within books, especially because so many books just kind of gloss over it. As someone who has dealt with trauma and the long-term effects that its had on me, this book is of particular interest to me.

TWoZ7. Karen Fortunati’s The Weight of Zero (October 11th, 2016 by Delacorte Press) – This is the other book that I’m sure will be a little difficult for me. I find myself drawn to books about mental illness because it’s something I deal with in my daily life, unfortunately a number of books, especially YA books, aren’t really satisfying for me. This is mostly because a lot of them have the “the cure was finding a romantic relationship the whole time.” This book is about relationships and their effects on the main character who has bipolar disorder, but it seems as if it’s more complex than the standard “love saves the day” endings of many books about mental illness. It is about different kinds of love and that’s so much more important to me. Romantic love is fine, but it’s just one part of the whole and I am looking forward to reading this one very much.

glitter aprilynne pike.jpg

8. Aprilynne Pike’s Glitter (October 25, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers) – I’ve seen this book on a couple of other people’s Top 10 TBR, but not a whole lot, which is weird because it sounds fantastic. The idea of an alternate history Versailles with a drug-peddling female hero (anti-hero?) sort of sounds like a weird (but amazing) version of Breaking Bad. The character sounds interesting, mainly because the fact that she’d sell something so hopelessly addicting for her own freedom isn’t particularly altruistic, but no character has to be entirely good and morally complex characters always catch my attention, so this is a book that I can’t wait to read, if only for morally complex heroines.

FoF 9. Sarah Raughley’s Fate of Flames (November 22, 2016 by Simon Pulse) – This is another book I’ve been creeping on for a really long time, ever since the summary on Goodreads described it as “Sailor Moon meets Pacific Rim.” In fact, that was probably what sold me on it before I had even entirely knew what it was about. And then the cover showed up and dazzled me with its beauty and I was sold even more, if that was possible. Sarah Raughley’s book about a quartet (?) of element controlling girls who have to protect the world definitely appeals to my inner Sailor Moon fan, as well as my love for comics and anything that sort of sounds like it should be a comic. I look forward to the fantasy, action adventure and just general kickassness of this book, which I may or may not have from NetGalley, as well.

scythe10. Neal Shusterman’s Scythe (November 22, 2016 by Simon & Shuster Books for Young Readers) –  I am going to preface this by saying I like books about Death and all his friends. By which I mean, I am interested in books where Death is an actual character. I also like books with battles between two people for a position where there can only be one because I want to know how (or even whether or not) they’ll be able to get around that. I’ve never read a book by Neal Shusterman, but this one does sound absolutely fascinating and the premise is definitely intriguing. I look forward to devouring it this November.

Leave a Reply

