Top 10 Tuesday #4 – 10 Bookish Facts About Me

Top TeN

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s theme is: Ten Facts About Me, which might actually be the most difficult theme that I’ve seen so far because I am absolutely awful at talking about myself or coming up with facts that could be considered, under any circumstances, to be even sort of interesting. Still, I will try my hardest, for you, the reader to come up with the best facts about me that I can.

001. I’m not the biggest fan of the Harry Potter series. I feel that way for a lot of reasons, which I would be more than happy to discuss, the first of which is that I just didn’t like any of the characters. I read the first four books as a child and loved them, but when I finally got to book five, the magic was gone. Some of my favorite books as a kid were Holes and Sideways Stories from Wayside School, Anne of Green Gables and A Series of Unfortunate Events. I enjoyed Harry Potter but it’s definitely not my favorite series. Probably not even in my top 10. I did the whole Pottermore thing and am a proud Slyther-claw (I took the quiz the first time and was a Slytherin, the second time after I lost my account information and retook the quiz, I was a Ravenclaw). I refuse to even acknowledge the American wizarding school mess.

002. I love comic books and graphic novels. I consider myself to have at least a masters level knowledge of Batman and everything Batman related, along with a lot of the rest of the DC universe. I started reading them a lot because of my dad, but also because of some friends. I don’t read as much of the Big Two (DC and Marvel) as I used to and have moved my obsessions to Image, who, to me, has a better selection of comics that are original and are more representative of a number of backgrounds and experiences. My current favorites are Saga, Bitch Planet, Paper Girls, and there are definitely more but I can’t exactly remember them off the top of my head.

003. I used to write fanfiction. I don’t anymore, but I used to. The first fanfiction I wrote was based on the Harry Potter movies and it was awful. I think my dad has it somewhere but I have no clue where and he won’t give it back to me. I still have a couple stories up, including two Batman ones that Fanfiction.net keeps telling me I have new comments and likes on. I went back and read it and I really wish I hadn’t.

004. I have a bizarrely specific list of books I am looking for and hope one day get published by someone. I’m just hoping that by having them in my head, someone will publish them. I’m convinced that’s what happened with Kim Zarins’ Sometimes We Tell the Truth, along with all of the stories based on A Thousand and One Nights.

 005. As much as I love dark, brooding, sarcastic love interests who spend a lot of time treating the main character like crap, I would probably (definitely) avoid that kind of guy in real life. I am all for the addition of more sweet, awkward nerdy love interests. It always disappoints me how often they’re placed on standby for the main character to be with dark and broody. I mean, there are definitely love interests of all types that I like, but the dark, broody one is becoming irritating to me, personally.

006. I read e-books and print books and while I do love holding print books, there are some advantages to e-books, such as the fact that I can have multiple books at my disposal, especially when I’m traveling. I used to only buy e-books for a while because I don’t have space for books in my dorm room and they were cheaper because I didn’t have a lot of money, but when I started my job in the library, we weren’t allowed to use electronic devices, so I started buying print books again. I still don’t have a lot of space, but at least I can read when things aren’t busy.

007. I can’t read just one book at a time. It’s not something I’ve ever done, probably because even when I read for fun, I’m probably reading for school, as well. There’s not enough time for me to read just one book, so I don’t. It also helps me when I don’t like a certain part of a book or I get bored with a slow part. Now, if a book catches my attention (looking at you, Six of Crows) then that’s all I’ll read and I race through it, but otherwise, I am slow and I will read more than one book at a time.

008. My favorite genres are YA fantasy and science fiction. I like the world building that goes into a lot of them. I don’t get as into YA contemporary as easily. There are definitely some books that I love that are YA contemporary, but the ones that are predominately about romance lose my attention fairly quickly. Maybe I’m jaded, I don’t really know, I just am not and haven’t been a sucker for love stories.

009. I always feel weird not liking a book everyone else likes, but there are definitely times (more often than not) where a book that has rave reviews will be nothing more than overly hyped and disappointing to me. I worry a lot about that because I know how defensive fandom can be and I know if I wrote something, the bad reviews would stick out the most.

010. I want to be a writer and I always have been but I also have been thinking about working in publishing, being an editor or an agent.  I’d also love to be a librarian. I keep thinking of getting a masters in library science. If anyone has information or advice on those fields (or has an MLIS), that’d be super helpful.

Anyways, those are 10 sort of interesting facts about me. I hope we have some in common. Or that we don’t.

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday #4 – 10 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    Ohhhh I’m not a Harry POTTER fan either >_< you're not alone. I just couldn't get into the books or movies, sadly :(. I totally get what you mean about loving comics, although I like Marvel more but only because I think the stories are less creepy. The joker, the penguin… they freak me out XD. Ms. Marvel is my favorite comic 🙂 but I'm hoping to read Silk

    Like

Leave a Reply

