#ReadThemAllThon TBR List

readthemallthon

Disclaimer: Pokemon belongs to Nintendo.

The #ReadThemAllThon is an awesome new Read-A-Thon created Aentee @ Read At Midnight (who also made these amazing graphics). It is a three week long challenge taking place from Sunday, August 14th to Sunday, September 4th. It is based off of the gyms in the Kanto region’s Indigo League (which makes me so nostalgic). There are 8 challenges that correspond with the 8 gyms and you read 8 different books for each of the 8 challenges. If you want to check out the announcement post, you can find it here.

Chosen Pokemon

Trainer Card

So I’ve decided, after careful consideration, that as much as I absolutely adore Eevee, I wanted a Pokemon with three evolutions so I chose the incredibly adorable Dratini which will eventually evolve into the fantastical Dragonite. So me and this little guy are starting with 10CP. (Thanks to Aentee for my trainer card! I love it so much!)

After much consideration, his name is Chrom, after my beloved from Fire Emblem Awakening. Sorry Inigo, but we’ll always have Fates.

Challenge/Gym TBR List

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

daughter

For Pewter City’s Boulder Badge, I think I’ll read Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke, which has been on my TBR list for as long as I can remember. I’ve read a tiny bit of it but it was so long ago that I barely remember it, but I have wanted to start this series for a really long time. Now is the perfect time because Strange the Dreamer isn’t coming out until next year, this one will have to tide me over until then.

418 pages, potential +41CP

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

GAtU

For Cerulean City’s Cascade Badge, we’re (maybe) turning on the waterworks with Paula Stokes’ Girl Against the Universe, which is already making me cry because of the condition that Amazon delivered it to me in. When that gets all fixed and settled and I get it (hopefully by this Tuesday), I will be reading this story of a “bad luck” girl and her love story with a cute guy, which doesn’t seem all that sad, but it also looks at therapy and struggling with family relationships and whenever a book deals with mental illness I have a tendency to burst into tears at some point.

400 pages, potential +40CP

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder

acotar

Okay, so for Vermillion City’s Thunder Badge, I’ve chosen to read Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses, which is, in my opinion, one of the most hyped up books I’ve seen in awhile. It’s kind of everywhere and I have never seen a more hyped up book with a more…enthusiastic fanbase. Whether this is good or bad is a matter that I’ll figure out after I read this book. It sounds interesting and I hope that I actually like it but I’m also kind of weary because of the hype but I’ll give it a try because I won it from a Goodreads giveaway and it’s just kind of sitting on my shelf.

416 pages,  potential +41CP

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow

the diviners

For Celadon City’s Rainbow Badge, I chose Libba Bray’s The Diviners, a book that takes place during The Roaring 20s and while the main character is white, there is a POV character who is African-American and issues of being a young black man in the 1920s are brought up. While I am not sure how well this is treated since the book is not written by a POC, my grandmother enjoyed it when she read it and since I never got the chance to, I’m going to give it a go for this challenge.

578 pages, potential +57CP

readthemallthon-badge05-soul

TheNightCircus

The book I chose Fuschia City’s Soul Badge is an old favorite of mine and that is Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus which I haven’t read in almost six years. I definitely believe the love story between Celia and Marco is one of the most epic in literature and this gives me an excuse to re-read a book that I haven’t read in a really long time and relive the happiness and sensations that this book brought to me the very first time I read it.

400 pages, potential +40CP

readthemallthon-badge06-marsh

the girl from everywhere

Okay, so I changed my mind. My original choice for Saffron City’s Marsh Badge was A Book of Spirits and Thieves but I keep hearing good things about this one and I feel like I have to read it, you guys. I love the mythology, the adventure and pirates. Besides, I hear it’s a diverse book and the love interest is pretty much the best, so I’m excited to read this one before the sequel comes out and I have it sitting at home in hardcover, so I’ve opted to read Heidi Heilig’s The Girl From Everywhere in order to win my Marsh Badge!

464 pages, potential +46CP
readthemallthon-badge07-flame

this

Okay, so I really hope this technically counts as red because for my Cinnabar Island Flame Badge, I plan on reading The Wrath and the Dawn, which is a retelling of 1001 Nights (or the framing story that is used in 1001 Nights, more appropriately). If I’m being completely honest, I already had this book on my Kindle. Unfortunately, I wanted the hardcover version because it’s gorgeous and so I bought that as well. I have never read either even though the story of Shahrzad is actually one of my absolute favorites. I feel like I am going to completely (and metaphorically) devour this book and hopefully get started on the next one.

388 pages, potential +38CP

readthemallthon-badge08-earth

the bone season

Okay, so I have switched this book so many times because  apparently I don’t read a lot of dystopian novels, possibly because I find it to be too cliche. I’ve heard good things about the world-building in this one and even though it’s kind of slow, apparently, I’ve heard that it’s worth it and it sounds super fascinating to me, so for this last one, after a lot of ado and frustration because apparently Cinder doesn’t count (which means, I have no clue when I’m gonna be able to read that book), I have chosen for my Earth Badge to read Samantha Shannon’s The Bone Season. 

480 pages, potential +48CP


Potential points if I finish all of the books for this challenge = 491 + 100 points if Dratini evolves into Dragonair (50CP) and then into Dragonite (50CP) = 611CP

Potential points if I finish all of the books and write reviews for them = 671 + 100 points if Dratini evolves into Dragonair (50CP) and then into Dragonite (50CP) = 771CP

15 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR List

  1. Daisy @ Feminists Read Love says:

    So many books I’ve read/recognise– I feel like our tastes in books might not be too different!

    I love Daniel José Older’s tweets, and I’ve been meaning to read Shadowshaper too. I read the first few pages of a library copy, and it looks so promising!

    I actually bought The Wrath and the Dawn digitally first, then bought the hardcover because it was just that gorgeous! I pre-ordered the sequel because I /needed/ to have them match on my shelf, but I still haven’t read it 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joyce Linnet says:

      I hope not! I love people who have similar taste in books. I’ll have to go check out your blog and see right now.

      DJO’s tweets are the best. I especially love when he tweets about his writing class. He’s so unapologetic about his views and I absolutely love him. I want to read some of his other books too and I feel so lame that I haven’t. I may or may not buy a copy of Shadowshaper, just because I like the cover.

      I was sad when my Kindle changed the cover to the paperback one. I mean, I like the paperback one but the hardcover is so pretty. I’ll probably by the second one soon too. I like my books to match. I’m looking forward to the food descriptions I keep hearing about most of all, plus everyone keeps recommending it so I’m just like…fine.

      Like

      • Daisy @ Feminists Read Love says:

        Ahh, I haven’t been posting much about YA or SFF so far, so I’m afraid my blog is rather disappointing right now haha 😞

        There’s so many amazing authors on Twitter who say things that really need to be said. It’s terrible that they get backlash for it though, so I always try to support them as much as possible. (Also, buy it. The cover is honestly worth it.)

        Both covers are so gorgeous 😍 Before TWATD, I had never considered buying 2 copies of the same book just to collect covers, but I was seriously tempted… I hope you enjoy it though!

        Like

      • Joyce Linnet says:

        It’s not disappointing at all, I promise! I mean, you post about what you read. That’s what book bloggers do.

        I love that they’re doing that. I like it when authors have principles. They’re people, after all. It makes me feel like I know them better and that when I spend money on their books, I’m showing them that I support them and the fact that they share their opinions makes me more likely to pay money to support them.

        I actually do that way more often than I’d like to admit. Or I like the book and feel like I need it in hardcover, but I usually only do that when I have extra money, which is…rarely.

        Like

      • Daisy @ Feminists Read Love says:

        Yes!! The more I hear about the industry and stuff, the more I feel the need to support authors that I admire with my time and money so they can keep doing what they do. On the flip side, there’s authors whose books I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole, no matter how much I like the concept, solely because of the things they’ve said on social media.

        Like

      • Joyce Linnet says:

        I totally agree. One of my friends and I argue all the time about separating art from artist, but sometimes I just can’t bring myself to do that. If I pay for a book written by someone who is vehemently homophobic *cough* Orson Scott Card *cough*, I feel like I’m paying to support that agenda and also endorsing it and I couldn’t, in good conscience, do that. It’s a little harder for classics because so many authors were racist/sexist, etc., but I usually end up having to read those for school so it’s strange but as a consumer, I think that the easiest way to show someone that you don’t agree with someone is to hit them in their wallet.

        Wow, I hope this doesn’t get me into trouble.

        Like

  2. sydneyeditor1 says:

    I have no idea about Pokemon, but over the past weeks, this readathon is the best thing to come out of it! Your list has sooo many good titles — and such pretty covers! but I think I like The probability of miracles the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joyce Linnet says:

      I love the cover to that book and I am so upset that I haven’t read it yet. I feel bad because I’ve had that forever. I’ve also had her other book, The Museum of Intangible Things, for a while too. I have such a long backlist that it’s embarrassing.

      Like

    • Joyce Linnet says:

      I was going to choose Eevee but I decided that I wanted a Dragonite at the end of the challenge, even if I didn’t win, which looking at everyone else’s book choices, it doesn’t look like I will, but still, I’m happy with the books I chose.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Flavia says:

    Such a good TBR list! Ahhhhh! A Court of Thorns and Roses is amazing. And I’ve been meaning to read The Diviners, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Night Circus, and The Girl from Everywhere. I also have The Wrath and the Dawn in my TBR for this readathon! Yay!

    I’ve never heard of Perfect Ruin or The Probability of Miracles though. But I hope you enjoy them!

    And Dratini! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

