Ten Books I’d Buy Right This Second (If I Had a Gift Card)

Top TeN

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s theme is: Ten Books I’d Buy Right This Second, which is a little bit easier than the previous one I participated in because at least this one is about books and doesn’t feel like those awkward getting to know each other exercises professors sometimes make the class do to learn everyone’s names. Basically, I’d rather talk about books than myself. It’s a lot easier. Anyways, here are ten books I’d buy right this second (I’m going with books that are already available to be purchased at the time that I wrote this post, so nothing upcoming, just stuff that’s already available right now).

The-Only-Thing-Worse-Than-Me-Is-You

 

001. The first book that I’d buy right this second is Lily Anderson’s The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You. This book sounds absolutely perfect for me so I have no excuse for not reading except that there really isn’t a library near me and books cost money and I don’t really have that at the moment. I keep seeing this book and the fact that main characters are based off of my two favorite characters from Shakespeare’s plays makes this a must-read, plus it’s full of nerdy references and Easter Eggs. Basically, no one is more disappointed about not being able to read this one. At this point, this is the book that is on the top of my Need-to-Buy list and it has been all summer. One day, it will be mine.

 

Romeo-and-or-Juliet-Final-Jacket-Art-683x1024

 

002. I loved Choose-Your-Own-Adventure books as a kid, even though I was really bad at not getting the worst possible endings (at least, not without cheating). That’s probably why I would be Ryan North’s Romeo and/or Juliet: it would give me a chance to redeem myself. Plus, I’ve heard that there’s an ending where Juliet says fuck-all and becomes a pirate queen (or something similar to that), so I’d like to see that, as opposed to the actual ending of Romeo and Juliet that almost all of us know already. Anyways, if I had a gift card or money or whatever, I would pick up this book immediately.

 

my lady jane

 

003. Another book I haven’t gotten to pick up yet even though it’s everywhere and most everyone who has read it has loved it is My Lady Jane. I feel so behind because I haven’t read it and everyone is talking about it, plus I love the whole alt-history retelling. I’m excited that this isn’t the only historical Jane that the Lady Janies are writing about since they’re also writing about Jane Austen and, my personal favorite, Calamity Jane, so My Lady Jane is definitely a book that I’d buy right now, this very second if I could.

 

 

 

Monstress

 

004. So I have heard a lot of good things about Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda’s Monstress. The art looks brilliant, apparently the story is amazing and Junot Diaz raves about it on Facebook all the time. The trade has been out for a bit now, so I would definitely pick it up if I had the money. I love female-led comics and Image always delivers when it comes to diverse narratives, so I feel like I need this one in my life ASAP.

 

 

 

the bone season

 

005. Samantha Shannon’s The Bone Season has been on my TBR list for awhile and while I’ve heard mixed things about this book, mostly due to the extensive worldbuilding that Shannon does at in this book, I still want to start this series becauase apparently it gets a lot better after the first book. I think the whole concept sounds really interesting. I had it on my Kindle but the charts and stuff weren’t there and I also didn’t like the way it looked so I’d like a physical copy in my hands right now.

 

 

 

Stormdancer

 

006. I have not read anything by Jay Kristoff, not even Illuminae, which I own, but left at school where it is sitting in a box with all of the other books I left behind but miss dearly. I pre-ordered a signed, numbered, sprayed red paged copy of Nevernight from Goldsboro Books because I want to read a book by him, but if I get a chance, before I get into Nevernight, I’d like to read Stormdancer and possibly the rest of The Lotus War trilogy because it sounds like something that I would be really into: mythology, steampunk Japan, monsters, etc., plus look at that cover. And the heroine is apparently really badass, so I’d snatch this book up in a second.

 

the abyss surrounds us

 

007. I have heard a lot of good things about The Abyss Surrounds Us, the most important of which is that there is an f/f romance. Now, I am all for diverse books, mostly because I fail a bit in reading them, which I feel really bad about, especially when it comes to LGBTQIA+ YA books. This is mostly due to the fact that a lot of books that deal with non-heterosexual relationships are usually contemporary and I don’t really read contemporary (lousy excuse I know, I’ll be better). But this one is a fantasy, which I read a lot more of and the premise seems unique and I basically need this book in my life right now.

 

 

ivory and bone

 

008. Okay, so another confession: Pride and Prejudice is one of my least favorite books of all time. The characters weren’t interesting to me and I couldn’t help but wonder why these people’s problems were even problems and why I was reading this for school when there was nothing in it that I could relate to. I still very much feel that way about anything by Jane Austen and I really wish I was sorry. I bring that up because I know that Ivory and Bone is a sort of retelling of Pride and Prejudice but genderswapped and in prehistoric times and it’s mostly that last part that makes it interesting to me. I might buy it on my Kindle, but I’d still buy it because it sounds intriguing and unique.

 

american girls009. American Girls sounds like such an amazing book and I’ve heard so many good things about it. I’m a huge fan of coming-of-age stories in YA and I love stories set in Los Angeles. I’ve been looking forward to this one for a while, especially since the main character uses a fascination with the girls from the Manson family and how they parallel with her own life. I can definitely admit to being fascinated with murderers and true crime, if only because I can’t begin to understand what goes on in the head of those people. Anyway, this is a unique spin on the coming-of-age story and I would love to read it (plus, it would be an interesting parallel with the novel, The Girls, which also came out this year and is a coming-of-age story with allusions to the Manson family murders.

the memory book

 

010. This book sounds like it’s going to break my heart, but everyone that seems to have read it absolutely loves it. I think that the concept alone is enough to make me interested enough to read it. It’s a beautiful story of a girl destined to forget desperately trying to make sure she remembers. It details the power of recording life and making memories and how lost you might be if that all was going to be impossible. Basically, it is a sad but ultimately heartwarming story and I need more of those in my life and in my library.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ten Books I’d Buy Right This Second (If I Had a Gift Card)

Leave a Reply

