Waiting on Wednesday #7 – Iron Cast

WAITING ON

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine (as seen on any number of book blogs but that I specifically borrowed from The Candid Cover) that showcases upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating. Here at Completely Booked, this week’s pick for  Waiting on Wednesday is:

Iron CastTitle: Iron Cast

Author: Destiny Soria

Publisher: Amulet Books

Publication Date: October 11, 2016

Summary (From Goodreads): It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

Thoughts: Okay, so I am a sucker for books about the 1920s as well as anything that has two do with gangsters (*cough* Peaky Blinders *cough* *cough* A Criminal Magic *cough*). It’s definitely a weakness for me as a reader. I also like when 1920s gangsters are mixed with magic, of sorts, and Iron Cast has both of these. Another thing I loved about this book as soon as I saw it was the cover, which leads me to believe that this book is not only going to have a female character of color, which is super important to me, since, you know, I am a woman of color, but also because that was a totally possible character that can exist in a book about the 1920s. Also, the hair. Like, look at that hair. I have incredibly, thick curly hair and I absolutely love seeing that represented on the cover of this book because it so often isn’t. Basically, this book has me in every possible way and I cannot wait for it.

Are you also excited for Iron Cast? What are you waiting for this Wednesday?

12 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #7 – Iron Cast

  1. uptilmidnight says:

    I’m excited for this book too! I have the ARC, but I need to get my to be read pile under control. I have at least twenty books I need to read. I have eight on my Kindle and the rest are on my bookshelf.

    Like

Leave a Reply

