Book Traveling Thursday #1 – Lazy Day Read [8/4]

I have never done this weekly meme before but it sounded pretty fun and so this week, I start my first Book Traveling Thursday, which is a weekly feature hosted by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Every week, you choose a book that relates to the chosen theme (which is posted at the beginning of every month) and look at the covers that the book has from all around the world. You can find more information about it at the BTT link I posted above.

This Week’s Theme: Choose a book you would want to read in a lazy day at home or the beach.

My Choice: For this week’s book, I decided to choose The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder. It seems like the perfect lazy day read at home or the beach. The premise reminds me of a feel-good movie you’d find on ABC Family or The Hallmark Channel.

Summary (From Goodreads): Hannah and Zoe haven’t had much in their lives, but they’ve always had each other. So when Zoe tells Hannah she needs to get out of their down-and-out New Jersey town, they pile into Hannah’s beat-up old Le Mans and head west, putting everything—their deadbeat parents, their disappointing love lives, their inevitable enrollment at community college—behind them.

As they chase storms and make new friends, Zoe tells Hannah she wants more for her. She wants her to live bigger, dream grander, aim higher. And so Zoe begins teaching Hannah all about life’s intangible things, concepts sadly missing from her existence—things like audacity, insouciance, karma, and even happiness.

An unforgettable read from the acclaimed author of The Probability of Miracles, The Museum of Intangible Things sparkles with the humor and heartbreak of true friendship and first love.

US/UK Covers

the museum of intangible things 1

First US/UK cover (earliest edition that I could find)

Favorite Cover (Other than the Original)

the museum of intangible things

I really love this cover. It’s so simplistic but the characters are present, the car they’re road tripping in is present and those are the main three aspects present in the story. I have this book on my Kindle so it automatically updated to this one when they reprinted the book and used this cover and, unlike most of the time when they do that, I actually really did like this cover. I have a strong aversion to covers with real people on them because it’s kind of like casting a movie: it messes with the image of the character I have in my head. There are some exceptions to this rule, but I definitely prefer covers that don’t feature models, so this one was more in my alley.

(Alt. US/UK cover)

Least Favorite Covers

(French/German Covers)

The French cover is rather plain and that’s my main problem with it, to be honest. The German cover has a random girl with an umbrella and a zebra on it. I don’t really know if that really encompasses the book and it’s a little too whimsical for me.

11 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #1 – Lazy Day Read [8/4]

  1. Candid Cover says:

    This book sounds perfect for the beach and one that I would probably enjoy! I am in love with that alternate US/UK cover. It just has a really fun and whimsical feel to it. This is such a fun meme! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

