Book Traveling Thursday #2- Required Reading for Bibliophiles [8/11]

Well, hello there everyone, it’s Thursday, which means it’s that time again. That’s right, it’s time for Book Traveling Thursday, which is a weekly feature hosted by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Every week, you choose a book that relates to the chosen theme (which is posted at the beginning of every month) and look at the covers that the book has from all around the world. You can find more information about it at the BTT link I posted above.

This Week’s Theme: National Book Lovers Day was two days ago… choose a book you think every book lover should read.

My Choice: For this week’s book cover exploration, I’ve decided to choose Jeffrey Eugenides’ 1993 book, The Virgin Suicides. The Virgin Suicides is actually one of my favorite books. I first read it in my junior year of high school but I wish I’d read it sooner. While it’s not a love letter to books, per se, it is a love letter to teenage girls in their adolescence and the feelings that develop then. It’s written by a man but it was definitely a book that I needed to read as a teenage girl. The title is controversial and I know that the story is too but the writing is so true to that point in someone’s life that it’s painful. Basically, I recommend this book to everyone.

Summary (From Goodreads): The haunting, humorous and tender story of the brief lives of the five entrancing Lisbon sisters, The Virgin Suicides, now a major film, is Jeffrey Eugenides’s classic debut novel.

The shocking thing about the girls was how nearly normal they seemed when their mother let them out for the one and only date of their lives. Twenty years on, their enigmatic personalities are embalmed in the memories of the boys who worshipped them and who now recall their shared adolescence: the brassiere draped over a crucifix belonging to the promiscuous Lux; the sisters’ breathtaking appearance on the night of the dance; and the sultry, sleepy street across which they watched a family disintegrate and fragile lives disappear.

Original US Cover (1993)

TVS_original

Favorite Covers

The second one on the left is actually the copy that I have at home, although I was most familiar with the one on the left. I think for the most part, these four perfectly represent the dreamy nature of the book, even more than the original cover did. The one second from the right is one of the newest editions of the book and I do not own it but I would like to. The Japanese cover is so simple that it fits the book so well I almost wish it were one of the English language covers so I could own it.

Least Favorite Covers

So, technically, the original cover could probably be included here as well as I’m not the biggest fan of it, but these covers are very strange as if the designed didn’t understand the book at all. The firs one, which Goodreads said is Serbian, seems as if it missed the point of the book entirely. I don’t see how it relates at all. It could be the cover for almost anything. The second one (which I believe is French and Goodreads said was English for some reason) is terrifying to me for reasons I don’t understand and the third one, while it has some relevance to the book, just doesn’t fit right to me.

Well, have you read The Virgin Suicides? Which cover do you like best? Which one do you hate?

11 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #2- Required Reading for Bibliophiles [8/11]

  1. _giovannard says:

    Oh no! I actually own and like the third cover in your least favorites! 😉 I tried to read this book maybe two years ago, and I wasn’t really into it. I ended up buying because it came in a boxset and it was 50 % off, so I’ll probably try and read it again! 😀
    My BTT! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joyce Linnet says:

      I loved this book but I totally get how it might not be for everyone. I feel bad that I chose a cover you liked as one of my least favorites. I think the font and sylization doesn’t work for the story, in my opinion. I mean, it’s the favorite of my least favorites, if that makes sense. The other ones were way worse to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. paperjasmine says:

    Such a great book! I actually own this book with a different cover that you haven’t included, its yellow with dried roses on the front. I really like it and I also really like the ones you put down as your favourites 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kimmie.gg says:

    Honestly, the cove made me pick up this book many years ago, and I was sucked in immediately. even to the point that I even watched the movie. It was crazy and intriguing to see how these girls were so radically changed and the reminder that things are not always as they seem…
    I really enjoyed reading this review, and am so glad I stumbled upon your blog via twitter (which I just discovered how to use today!) I look forward to your later posts as well!
    Grace from kimmiegg.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

