Musing Monday #1 – August 15

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Books and a Beat that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

 

My Musings For the Week: I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…

Well, this week, I guess I wanted to talk about something that’s been bothering me. I’m kind of upset about this article I found on Twitter this weekend. If you didn’t want to click on it, basically, an artist on the Cartoon Network show, Steven Universe, quit not just social media but also her job on the show because she was being harassed by fans who were angry over the fact that she posted fan art that didn’t work with their specific ship. Constantly brought up in this article, by the artist, Lauren Zuke, as well as other creators is the idea that fans have a sense of entitlement towards these properties and when their ships don’t come to fruition or things don’t go their way for whatever reason, they react almost like spoiled children and it’s not just bad for creators but it’s bad for other fans who just want to enjoy themselves. I know the old saying “one rotten apple doesn’t spoil the bunch” but honestly, sometimes it can.

While most fandoms are welcoming, full of people that come together because they love the same things, a lot of fandoms have people who are not the best representatives of that particular fandom. Unfortunately, bad fans exist even in the bookish world and while there technically is no wrong way to love something, I think that loving something in a way that makes other people feel scared or threatened if they don’t feel the same way isn’t fair. There are a number of series, especially fantasy YA, that have fans of particular ships and there are a number of fans that are nice and kind and great people but there are tons of incredibly vocal fans that treat anyone who disagrees with them as a threat.

I’m not saying that fandom is bad! In many cases, it’s great because you’re able to find people who like the same things as you do. But I am saying that making it so that people can’t enjoy things because they disagree with you or getting angry with creators who work hard and are human beings with their own thoughts and feelings just because they didn’t give you exactly what you wanted is wrong and it takes a lot of fun out of creating and out of being a fan. There are a lot of books I’m hesitant to read because if I don’t ship the same ships as everyone else, I’m worried that people will attack me (and I’ve seen it happen before). Feel free to ship your ships and enjoy your books and TV shows and whatever else you love, but please, keep in mind that everyone you interact with has feelings, just like you do.

This Week’s Random Question: What sequel do you have yet to read?

Well, I haven’t read a lot of sequels, to be honest. The first one that comes to mind is The Wicked Will Rise, which is the second book in Danielle Paige’s amazing Dorothy Must Die series, that is going to be four books instead of just three. Still, I need to get on that as soon as possible because I really did love the first one.

How do you feel about fandoms? What are some of you best/worst experiences with fandoms? What fandoms are you a part of? Also, what book sequel have you not read yet. Let me know in the comments below. Don’t forget to link me to your Musing Monday posts!

6 thoughts on “Musing Monday #1 – August 15

    • Joyce Linnet says:

      Wow, I wouldn’t imagine that there would be so many extreme fans of Anne of Green Gables that would cause anyone to have a negative experience, but I guess you never know.

      Thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

