Classic Fridays #2 – September Releases [9/2]

classic-fridays

Classic Fridays was a meme created by Team Gray for the BBCP (Book Blogger Creativity Project). This is my first time doing this, so hopefully you guys like it. For more information on joining Classic Fridays, you can find information here.

This week, the Classic Fridays topic is “Back to School.”

Which book are you most excited for this month?

Ugh, wow, that’s such a difficult question because I’ve done totals for books that I’ve pre-ordered over the last couple of months from September to December and September is, honestly, the highest. I guess the book that I’m most excited for, if I had to pick just one would be Leigh Bardugo’s Crooked Kingdom. 

Why are you looking forward to this book?

I am looking forward to Crooked Kingdom because it’s the sequel to Six of Crows. I absolutely loved Six of Crows and I need to know how it all ends. I am both nervous and excited about this one because Six of Crows is one of the best books I’ve ever read and it’s definitely the best YA books I’ve ever read. It was very character driven and I loved every single character. I want nothing more than for this all to end happily for all of them and that’s why I’m worried.

What book challenges are you participating in?

Umm, none, so far. I don’t really know of any, nor do I know if I’ll have time once school starts again, so I’m not sure. If I find any cool ones that I want to do, I might consider it, though. If you have any suggestions, feel free to leave them in the comments or share them with me on Twitter.

How many books do you want to read this month?

I don’t really know. My focus should be on school books and the novels I’ll be reading for classes, but I probably want to read, at least, 5. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll have time to read all of the September releases I pre-ordered in September. Or anytime too soon after that either.

Did you pre-order any September releases or do you prefer to buy them on release day?

Okay, so I pretty much pre-ordered every single September release, give or take a couple. I currently have 22 books on pre-order. They are The Graces, Labyrinth Lost, As I Descended, Sometimes We Tell the Truth, Diplomatic Immunity, A Song to Take the World Apart, Going Geek, The Forgetting, The Reader, Kingdom of Ash and Briar, Vassa in the Night, Three Dark Crowns, The Odds of Lightning, The Female of the Species, The Queen of Blood, A Shadow Bright and Burning, Kids of Appetite, Stalking Jack the Ripper, Bright Smoke, Cold Fire, Stealing Snow, and Crooked Kingdom. I’m too impatient to wait until release day and besides, I go to school in the middle of nowhere and the nearest bookstore is the campus bookstore which doesn’t always have the books I want (and is more expensive than Amazon) and a Barnes and Noble in another town. I like getting the e-mail from our mailroom that my books have come. It makes me happy, although they do take up a lot of space and I have no idea what I’m going to do with them when I need to get them home.

Which September release has the prettiest cover?

That’s another hard one. I might have to do a Top 5 and even that might not be enough, but I’ll just go with 5: As I Descended, The Graces, Vassa in the Night, Stealing Snow, and The Reader. I hate that I had to leave so many out. Most of the books I pre-ordered have really pretty covers.

 How many September releases have you already read?

As of the time I am writing this, none. I don’t really get ARCs, although I do have one for Kim Zarins’ Sometimes We Tell the Truth, but I’ve had no time to read it lately, so I haven’t read any yet.

If you could get 5 new releases right now, which ones would you pick?

I’m guessing this is only referring to 5 new September releases so I suppose that if I could pick 5 new releases to get right now, I’d pick Crooked Kingdom, A Shadow Bright and Burning, Three Dark Crowns, The Reader, and Stalking Jack the Ripper.

Were any of these books recommended to you by anyone? Who?

Honestly, I picked most of these based off of Goodreads summaries. A lot of these have been on my TBR since before they even had covers. I mean, I’ve seen bloggers that I follow recommend some of them, but most of these books were just because I liked the summaries on Goodreads.

September has so many good books coming out, which are you looking forward to?

 

Leave a Reply

