Book Traveling Thursday # 4 – A Book From One of My Favorite Genres [12/1]

Well, hello there everyone, it’s Thursday, which means it’s that time again. That’s right, it’s time for Book Traveling Thursday, which is a weekly feature hosted by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Every week, you choose a book that relates to the chosen theme (which is posted at the beginning of every month) and look at the covers that the book has from all around the world. You can find more information about it at the BTT link I posted above.

Sorry it’s been a bit since I’ve posted regularly but school has just been impossible to manage along with blogging, but I’m trying to at least get some new posts up for you all to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: Because we all have the right to our own opinion… Choose a book from one of your favorite genres!

My Choice: This is actually one of my favorite books of all time, in general, but it’s also a book that I love in one of my favorite genres, which is magical realism. I really love pretty much every Haruki Murakami book, even if they kind of made me slightly uncomfortable at first (I was a bit more awkward with sex when I first tried the read The Wind Up Bird Chronicle for the first time), but now I absolutely adore them, especially with the new covers that I see on Amazon sometimes. Anyways, my choice for this week’s BTT is Haruki Murakami’s Sputnik Sweetheart. 

Summary (From Goodreads): Sumire is in love with a woman seventeen years her senior. But whereas Miu is glamorous and successful, Sumire is an aspiring writer who dresses in an oversized second-hand coat and heavy boots like a character in a Kerouac novel.

Sumire spends hours on the phone talking to her best friend K about the big questions in life: what is sexual desire, and should she ever tell Miu how she feels for her? Meanwhile K wonders whether he should confess his own unrequited love for Sumire.

Then, a desperate Miu calls from a small Greek island: Sumire has mysteriously vanished…

US Cover

sputnik1.jpg

This isn’t the version I currently own, but it’s definitely one of the first versions of the English one that I remember seeing, at least in the US.

Favorite Covers

sputnik2 27202632.jpg51e1V-YAmeL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Least Favorite Covers

9574339.jpg 45316.jpg

Leave a Reply

